State Contact

Janice M. Smiley, MSN, RN
Director, Perinatal Health Division
Alabama Department of Public Health
201 Monroe Street, Suite 1350
Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone: 334-206-2928
Fax: 334-206-2983
Email: Janice.Smiley@adph.state.al.us

Program Description

Administration

The state program is administered at the Alabama Department of Health, which supports the following local teams:

Program Contact

Pebbles King
Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Coordinator
Mobile County Health Department
2263 St. Stephens Rd.,
Mobile, AL 36617
Phone: 251-690-8829
Fax: 251-445-2251
Email: pking@mchd.org

Second contact: Stephanie Woods-Crawford
Email: SWCrawford@mchd.org

Program Description

Administration
The typical FIMR operates as a two tiered system, with a Community Review Team (CRT) and a separate Community Action Team (CAT). The CAT is often charged with taking the recommendations of the CRT and putting them into action. Does your FIMR use a two tiered system with a functioning CAT?
Yes

Reviews
What is the catchment area for your FIMR program?
Reviews residents of a county

What is the average number of cases reviewed by your FIMR team annually?
60 #Stillbirths/Fetal Deaths
40 #Infant Deaths

Program Contact

Lisa Carter, RN, MSN, CLC
Perinatal Coordinator-Region 1
AL Dept. of Public Health-Perinatal Program Huntsville Hospital-Women & Children
101 Sivley Road
Huntsville, AL 35801
Phone: 256-265-7980
Fax: 256-265-7320
Email: lisa.carter@hhsys.org

Program Description

Administration
The typical FIMR operates as a two tiered system, with a Community Review Team (CRT) and a separate Community Action Team (CAT). The CAT is often charged with taking the recommendations of the CRT and putting them into action. Does your FIMR use a two tiered system with a functioning CAT?
Yes

Program Contact

Trendle Samuel
Region II Perinatal Coordinator
AL Dept. of Public Health-State Perinatal Program
809 University Blvd E
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone: 205-759-6166
Fax: 205-750-5547
Email: Trendle.samuel@adph.state.al.us

Program Description

Administration
The typical FIMR operates as a two tiered system, with a Community Review Team (CRT) and a separate Community Action Team (CAT). The CAT is often charged with taking the recommendations of the CRT and putting them into action. Does your FIMR use a two tiered system with a functioning CAT?
Yes

Reviews
What is the catchment area for your FIMR program?
Regional or multiple county reviews

What is the average number of cases reviewed by your FIMR team annually?
25 #Stillbirths/Fetal Deaths
30 #Infant Deaths

Program Contact

Cathy Nichols
Email: Cathy.Nichols@adph.state.al.us

Program Contact

Laurie Gregory
Email: Laurie.Gregory@adph.state.al.us

Program Contact

Shirley Daniel
Email: shirley.daniel@adph.state.al.us