The Steering Committee assists the National Center by:
  • Providing expertise to National Center staff and review teams in different areas of fetal, infant, child and family health, safety and protection, including development of local and state recommendations.
  • Reviewing state and local fatality review findings and recommendations and create national level recommendations for policy, programs and practices to improve child health, safety and protection.
  • Maximizing national partnerships that help improve the health and safety of communities.
  • Creating opportunities to connect member organizations to fatality review programs to help build the capacity.
  • Expanding the capacity of the National Center
  • Providing guidance for improving Center resources, products and services.
  • Advocating for improvements in the capacity of fatality review findings to drive prevention.
  • Providing guidance for strategies to sustain fatality review at local, state and national levels.

Steering Committee Members

Renée Branch Canady, PhD, MPA

CEO, Ex Officio
Michigan Public Health Institute

Andria Cornell, MSPH

Associate Director
Women’s & Infant Health

Michelle Cornette, Ph.D

Public Health Advisor
Suicide Prevention Branch, SAMHSA

Carri Cottengim

Health Scientist
Maternal and Infant Health Branch, Division of Reproductive Health
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Kelly Davis, MPA

Chief Equity Officer
National Birth Equity Collaborative

Julie Ebin, Ed.M

Manager of Special Initiatives
Suicide Prevention Resource Center

Shannon Frattaroli, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor & Director
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Department of Health Policy and Management

Elon Geffrard, BS, CLC, ICCE

Health Equity Consultant
Michigan Public Health Institute
Center for Health Equity Practice

Deborah L. Frazier, RN

National Healthy Start Association

Kelly S Gibson, MD, FACOG

Division Director, Maternal Fetal Medicine, The MetroHealth System
Assistant Professor, Case Western Reserve University
Representative of the Society of Maternal Fetal Medicine

Kristinza W. Giese, MD

Deputy Medical Examiner
Washington DC Office of the Chief Medical Examiner

Sharon Gilmartin, MPH

Deputy Director
Safe States Alliance

Rahul Gupta, MD, MPH, MBA, FACP

Chief Medical and Health Officer & Senior Vice President
Interim Chief Scientific Officer
March of Dimes

Pat Heinrich, RN, MSN, CLE

National Institute for Children’s Health Quality

Rachel Heitmann, MS

Tennessee Department of Health

Kate Jankovsky, MSW/MPH

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Catherine L. Kothari, PhD

Associate Professor with the Epidemiology & Biostatistics Division
Western Michigan University
Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine

Jennifer Leonardo, PhD, MSW

Children’s Safety Network

Morag MacKay, MSc

Director of Research
Safe Kids Worldwide

Gretchen Martin, MSW

Division of Fatality Review & Prevention
Indiana State Department of Health

Joyal Mulheron


Teresa Paulus, RN, BSN

Brian’s mom
Winnebago County Health Department, Wisconsin
Winnebago County Child Death Review Team, Chairperson

Diane Pilkey, RN, MPH

Health Resources and Services Administration
Maternal and Child Health Bureau

Amy Templeman

Within Our Reach
Alliance for Strong Families and Communities

Andrea C. Gielen, ScD, ScM

Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Sheree Holmes Keitt, DrPH, MPH, CHES

Senior Program Manager
National Healthy Start Association

Terri Wright, PhD, MPH

Health Equity Strategist

Members not pictured include:

Bonnie Kozial, AAP
Caroline Stampfel, AMCHP
Cheryl Clark, AMCHP
Christine Mackie, ASTHO
Cathy Costa, Baltimore City Health Department
Chad Abresh, CityMatCH
Melvina Thornton, Dept. of Defense, Family Advocacy
Bethany Miller, HRSA
Mary Emanuele, HRSA
Maureen Perkins, HRSA
Sara Kinsman, HRSA
Sonsy Fermin, HRSA
Vanessa Lee, HRSA
Kelly Cunningham, Indiana State Department of Health
Richard McKeon, SAMHSA/CMHS
Arletha Howard, Tugaloo College/Delta HealthPartners Healthy Start